Dallas Weekend Recap!

Hey guys,

I’ve been thinking that I need to post more often, so I’m trying to work on that. We will be taking a trip to the West coast at the end of August, so I’ll be sharing some of our travels with you guys, but in the meantime how about our latest getaway.

If you’re following me on Instagram, you probably know we recently took a little trip to Dallas. It was a much needed getaway and since we normally just go to Branson, MO for these types of trips, Dallas was a good change. I’m not going to tell you guys every single place we went to and every single thing we ate (you’ll probably get very bored, because it was a very busy 4-day weekend) but I’ll give you a quick recap of most of it.

Where we stayed!

Omni Dallas Hotel

20150612_184127_edited

The hotel was very affordable for a 4 1/2 star. When I was looking through the pictures online before I booked it, I was very surprised it was that nice for the price, and it didn’t disappoint in real life. We choose one of the rooms with a great view, and we loved it. The hotel is right in the middle of downtown which is a great plus, and the service was impeccable. Definitely the type of place you’d want to come back to. Although we do have a few other hotels in mind the next time we visit Dallas.

Where we ate!

Urban Blend Coffee Shop

20150614_104917_edited 20150614_104801_edited

Of course coffee shops were very important to us, and we found this cool little urban place that we loved. Just look at the style and décor, it’s right up our alley.

Dream Café

We originally wanted to go to Breadwinners Café for brunch, but there was such a huge line that we changed our mind. I’m sure it’s pretty great, hence the line, but we didn’t want to wait. Dream Café was good, but not top notch. The atmosphere was casual and relaxed, the service was great, and the food wasn’t bad. My husband liked his, but mine was a bit bland, and I’m not big on spices and seasonings so that should tell you a lot. But I’d go there again and just try something different of the menu. We also had their espresso drinks and they were pretty good.

Bob’s Steak and Chophouse

This place (which is located at the Omni Hotel) was amazing, and I’m not exaggerating at all. It was definitely a fine dining experience at it’s best, everything from the food to the service. My husband is a steak guy, so he’s very picky and he absolutely loved his Ribeye, and I had the best Fillet Mignon ever. The waiting staff was seriously the best, they make your experience all that much better. Oh yeah and they make their own pickles, there’s a whole history about that.

Food Trucks at Clyde Warren Park

Food trucks are always fun to check out, it was very hot but we managed to find a place in the shade to eat. We also went all out and had things we don’t eat everyday, my husband had a philly steak and I had fried oysters, oh yeah and they all came with French fries (can’t remember the last time I had fries).

Where we went!

Shopping

On the first day we checked out the Shops at Park Lane and on the second day we went to the Galleria. Both shopping centers are amazing, and very high-end looking. I was very happy that my husband stuck it out the entire time.

Downtown Dallas

20150614_103955_edited

We pretty much explored the entire downtown. My husband wanted to see the JFK Memorial so we went there first, then just walked around and checked out all the buildings, we just love the old architecture.

Clyde Warren Park

20150614_121415_edited

We wanted to visit all the tourist-type spots so of course we went to the Clyde Warren Park. We had some lunch from the food trucks parked there plus I had to take my picture by the #DallasBIG sign. My husband was a good sport about it and took some pictures even though it was crazy hot and all we wanted was to get back in our car and turn on some A/C.

Well that about sums up our trip to Dallas. I feel like we got to see a little bit of everything, and it was a very fun experience. Do you guys have any recommendations the next time we go?

❤ Julie

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑